Developer Diary: Global Operations Changes


The Global Operations mode is one of the three main Armored Warfare modes and, in many ways, is the most difficult one to master. The mode is built around classic PvP principles but, compared to the standard Armored Warfare Player versus Player mode, it features a number of elements that make its gameplay more fun, but also more complex. These features include:

  • Multiple objectives to capture instead of just one or two bases
  • Changing objective positions
  • Respawn mechanics
  • Point system instead of simple kills
  • Wildcards
  • AI enemies on certain maps

In our feedback gathering as well as statistics analysis, we’ve discovered that while the mode is quite suitable for veteran players, many of whom enjoy it as an alternative to the classic PvP mode, it’s also quite difficult to get into for new players when they are hurled onto a larger battlefield without additional preparations that include reading up on the mode on the Armored Warfare website.


The Global Operations mode is normally available starting from Tier 5, but even after the time spent in battles learning the game basics, new players can still have hard time understanding all the User Interface elements presented to them when they first enter the mode.

To address these issues, we’ve prepared several changes for the Global Operations mode.

First and foremost, following the trial period that started with the Arena as well as other tests, Global Operations will be permanently available starting with Tier 1. Players will therefore have access to the mode very early on.

At the same time, we will be disabling the standard low-Tier PvP mode and will be setting the Global Operations mode as the default mode on Tier 1. We will also be reducing the minimum team size.

To make the mode more accessible instead of overwhelming the way it is now, we will be introducing simplified Global Operations maps to lower Tiers, specifically:

  • Global Operations version of Pleternica and Pipelines to Tier 1 and Tier 2
  • Global Operations version of Reactor and Port Storm to Tier 2, Tier 3 and Tier 4

These maps will have a number of changes compared to the standard Global Operations maps.

Pleternica and Pipelines (Tier 1 and Tier 2 maps):

  • No wildcards
  • No phases
  • Short match time
  • No manual respawn point selection

Simply put, the maps will play like a standard PvP match, only with the Objective mechanics of Global Operations. Respawning as such will still be present, as will the point system, but the elements that make the mode hard to get into will be limited.

Reactor and Port Storm (Tier 2 to Tier 4 maps):

  • Only one wildcard type (to introduce the concept)
  • Two phases only (to introduce the concept)
  • Reduced match time (not as much as on Tier 1)
  • Manual respawn point selection

These maps will already resemble the classic Global Operations maps a bit more, even though some elements will still not be fully introduced. The Narrows Global Operations map will also use these rules and will be available from Tier 3 to Tier 5.

As you can see, we will be using certain maps for certain Tiers only. This will apply to the standard Global Operations maps as well. The largest and most advanced maps will only appear in the second half of the game as such:

  • Pleternica and Pipelines: Tier 1 to Tier 2
  • Reactor and Port Storm: Tier 2 to Tier 4
  • Narrows: Tier 3 to Tier 5
  • Ghost Field: Tier 4 to Tier 9 (disabled for Tier 10 vehicles)
  • Roughneck and Waterway: Tier 5 to Tier 10
  • Desert Crossing: Tier 6 to Tier 10
  • Grindelwald and Barren Divide: Tier 7 to Tier 10

These changes will allow us to help players ease into all the mechanics the mode has to offer, leaving the most complex maps for the last.

For players to better understand the Global Operations mechanics, we are also introducing several smaller changes, such as displaying the exact rewards for Global Operations victory points in the battle debriefing, allowing you to find out exactly how much you earned that match via Global Operations point mechanics alone.

These changes and many more are coming in the first Season called “Black Sea Incursion.”

We hope that you will enjoy them and will see you on the battlefield!

Go up

Join the action